Panhandle Health District 800-878-2364

About Us

Your health is our #1 priority.

Panhandle Health District provides over 40 different public health programs to families, individuals and organizations in northern Idaho. From food and drinking water safety to health education and disease control, public health services are designed to ensure our community is a safe and healthy place to live, work and thrive.

You have at your service a PHD team that includes nurses, nutritionists, environmental health specialists, health educators and many other dedicated professionals with a common goal: deliver vital public health services to keep every member of our community well.

Panhandle Health District is one of seven health districts in the state of Idaho. In 1970, the Idaho Legislature recognized the value a formal public health structure would provide Idaho residents. That year, the Legislature created the health districts to ensure all Idahoans have access to local public health services (See Idaho Code, Title 39, Chapter 4). Panhandle Health District is locally controlled and governed by members of our community that advocate for what’s best in our community. County commissioners from Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Benewah and Shoshone counties appoint a Board of Health that governs the Health District’s policies based on the community’s unique needs.

Panhandle Health District supports its programs with funding from the state, counties it serves, fees, grants and contracts with federal and state agencies. Your health isn’t only important—it’s our number one focus.

We’re here to help.

2 female nurses helping smiling male patient

Board of Health

Current Board Members

Allen Banks, Ph.D.

Bonner County (At-Large)

Glen Bailey

Bonner County, County Commissioner

Jai Nelson, R.N.

Kootenai County

Marlow Thompson

Benewah County

Mike Fitzgerald

Shoshone County, County Commissioner

Richard McLandress, M.D.

Kootenai County

Walt Kirby

Boundary County, County Commissioner

Executive Staff

Lora Whalen, District Director: lwhalen@phd1.idaho.gov

Joseph Righello, Environmental and Health Protection Administrator: jrighello@phd1.idaho.gov

Don Duffy, Public Health Services Administrator: dduffy@phd1.idaho.gov

Christine Crummer, Financial Officer: ccrummer@phd1.idaho.gov

Mashelle Kenney, Human Resources Specialist: mkenney@phd1.idaho.gov

Public Health Program Managers & Coordinators

Andy Helkey, Institutional Controls: ahelkey@phd1.idaho.gov

Cindi Richardson, Nurse Family Partnership & Parents as Teachers: crichardson@phd1.idaho.gov

Daniel Perry, Senior Companions Program: dperry@phd1.idaho.gov

Erik Ketner, Environmental Health: eketner@phd1.idaho.gov

Kimberly Young, Women, Infants and Children (WIC): kyoung@phd1.idaho.gov

Kristina Meyer, Clinical Services: kmeyer@phd1.idaho.gov

Nick Mechikoff, Public Health Preparedness: nmechikoff@phd1.idaho.gov

Nick Swope, Health Promotions: nswope@phd1.idaho.gov

Gwen Schell, Home Health: gschell@phd1.idaho.gov

Samantha Tuskan, Child Care Resource Center: stuskan@phd1.idaho.gov