About Us

Your health is our #1 priority.

Panhandle Health District provides over 40 different public health programs to families, individuals and organizations in northern Idaho. From food and drinking water safety to health education and disease control, public health services are designed to ensure our community is a safe and healthy place to live, work and thrive.

You have at your service a PHD team that includes nurses, nutritionists, environmental health specialists, health educators and many other dedicated professionals with a common goal: deliver vital public health services to keep every member of our community well.

Panhandle Health District is one of seven health districts in the state of Idaho. In 1970, the Idaho Legislature recognized the value a formal public health structure would provide Idaho residents. That year, the Legislature created the health districts to ensure all Idahoans have access to local public health services (See Idaho Code, Title 39, Chapter 4). Panhandle Health District is locally controlled and governed by members of our community that advocate for what’s best in our community. County commissioners from Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Benewah and Shoshone counties appoint a Board of Health that governs the Health District’s policies based on the community’s unique needs.

Panhandle Health District supports its programs with funding from the state, counties it serves, fees, grants and contracts with federal and state agencies. Your health isn’t only important—it’s our number one focus.

We’re here to help.

Between July and December of 2023, Crescendo Consulting Group (“Crescendo”) worked in collaboration with Panhandle Health District to implement a mixed-methods approach aligned with the National Association of County and City Health Officials’ Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships (MAPP 2.0) framework. A combination of quantitative and qualitative research methods were used to evaluate the perspectives and opinions of community stakeholders, especially those from underserved and underrepresented populations.

This Community Health Assessment (CHA) provides a critical process that examines prevailing health issues and conditions while simultaneously identifying resources and opportunities to meet specific community health needs. View PHD’s 2024 CHA.

Our Mission statement: To Prevent disease, disability, premature death; to Promote health lifestyles; and to Protect the health and quality of the environment.

2 female nurses helping smiling male patient

Board of Health

Current Board Members

Marlow Thompson – Chair, Benewah County

Glen Bailey – Bonner County

Thomas Fletcher – Bonner County

Jessica Jameson – Kootenai County

Duke Johnson – Kootenai County

Tracy Casady – Shoshone County

Tim Bertling – Boundary County

Idaho Association of District Boards of Health Meeting Information

Idaho Public Health Districts – Trustees

Meeting Notice Archives (idahopublichealthdistricts.org)

Executive Staff

Don Duffy, District Director: dduffy@phd1.idaho.gov

Erik Ketner, Environmental and Health Protection Administrator: eketner@phd1.idaho.gov

Kim Young, Health Services Administrator: kyoung@phd1.idaho.gov

Jennifer Dowell, Clinical Health Services Administrator: jdowell@phd1.idaho.gov

Christine Crummer, Financial Officer: ccrummer@phd1.idaho.gov

Sandee Riggs, Human Resources Specialist: sriggs@phd1.idaho.gov

Public Health Program Managers & Coordinators

Kristine Kono, Nurse Family Partnership & Parents as Teachers: kkono@phd1.idaho.gov

Daniel Perry, Senior Companions Program: dperry@phd1.idaho.gov

Jason Peppin, Environmental Health: jpeppin@phd1.idaho.gov

Mary Rehnborg, Institutional Controls Program: mrehnborg@phd1.idaho.gov

Danielle Boward, Nutritional Services and Women, Infants and Children (WIC): dboward@phd1.idaho.gov

Katie Schmeer, Community Health: kschmeer@phd1.idaho.gov

Jeff Weigel, Epidemiology, jweigel@phd1.idaho.gov

Katelin Arnold, Clinical Services Nurse Manager: karnold@phd1.idaho.gov

Morgan Walker, Public Health Preparedness: mwalker@phd1.idaho.gov