Panhandle Health District 800-878-2364

About Us

Your health is our #1 priority.

Panhandle Health District provides over 40 different public health programs to families, individuals and organizations in northern Idaho. From food and drinking water safety to health education and disease control, public health services are designed to ensure our community is a safe and healthy place to live, work and thrive.

You have at your service a PHD team that includes nurses, nutritionists, environmental health specialists, health educators and many other dedicated professionals with a common goal: deliver vital public health services to keep every member of our community well.

Panhandle Health District is one of seven health districts in the state of Idaho. In 1970, the Idaho Legislature recognized the value a formal public health structure would provide Idaho residents. That year, the Legislature created the health districts to ensure all Idahoans have access to local public health services (See Idaho Code, Title 39, Chapter 4). Panhandle Health District is locally controlled and governed by members of our community that advocate for what’s best in our community. County commissioners from Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Benewah and Shoshone counties appoint a Board of Health that governs the Health District’s policies based on the community’s unique needs.

Panhandle Health District supports its programs with funding from the state, counties it serves, fees, grants and contracts with federal and state agencies. Your health isn’t only important—it’s our number one focus.

We’re here to help.

Our Mission statement: To Prevent disease, disability, premature death; to Promote health lifestyles; and to Protect the health and quality of the environment.

2 female nurses helping smiling male patient

Board of Health

Current Board Members

Glen Bailey

Bonner County

Jessica Jameson, M.D., FASA

Kootenai County

Marlow Thompson

Benewah County

Mike Fitzgerald

Shoshone County, County Commissioner

Richard McLandress, M.D.

Kootenai County

Thomas Fletcher

Bonner County

Tim Bertling

Boundary County, County Commissioner

Idaho Association of District Boards of Health Meeting Information

Idaho Public Health Districts – Trustees

Meeting Notice Archives (idahopublichealthdistricts.org)

Trustee and Executive Council meets every Friday at 9 AM through the end of March 2021

Executive Staff

Don Duffy, District Director: dduffy@phd1.idaho.gov

Erik Ketner, Environmental and Health Protection Administrator: eketner@phd1.idaho.gov

Kim Young, Health Services Administrator: kyoung@phd1.idaho.gov

Jennifer Dowell, Clinical Health Services Administrator: jdowell@phd1.idaho.gov

Christine Crummer, Financial Officer: ccrummer@phd1.idaho.gov

Mashelle Kenney, Human Resources Specialist: mkenney@phd1.idaho.gov

Public Health Program Managers & Coordinators

Kristine Kono, Nurse Family Partnership & Parents as Teachers: kkono@phd1.idaho.gov

Daniel Perry, Senior Companions Program: dperry@phd1.idaho.gov

Jason Peppin, Environmental Health: jpeppin@phd1.idaho.gov

Mary Rehnborg, Institutional Controls Program: mrehnborg@phd1.idaho.gov

Danielle Boward, Nutritional Services and Women, Infants and Children (WIC): dboward@phd1.idaho.gov

Tina Ghirarduzzi, Health Promotions: tghirarduzzi@phd1.idaho.gov

Kelsey Orlando, Opioid/Substance Use Disorder: korlando@phd1.idaho.gov

Jeff Weigel, Epidemiology, jweigel@phd1.idaho.gov

Clinical Services Nurse Manager: Currently Vacant

Nick Mechikoff, Public Health Preparedness: nmechikoff@phd1.idaho.gov

Mary Clarke, Home Health: mclarke@phd1.idaho.gov

Amy Alberts, Billing: aalberts@phd1.idaho.gov